Select an option to filter your content


Congratulations Brendan!

Congratulations Brendan!

The Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD) has announced this year’s AWARD School national top student, who was nominated by a super jury of leading creatives from all parts of the globe. The masses crammed into the AWARD Pencil Bar, the hub of AWARD’s three-day creative festival: This Way Up, to hear the announcement.

Brendan Morrow, a copywriter from Western Australia, took home the top honours after state finalists were announced at graduation celebrations held throughout the week.

“Brendan’s portfolio was exceptionally strong, reflecting the audience’s mindset, challenges and pain points. The jury loved the fact that his creative ideas were simple and well executed and that he fulfilled the brief in all instances,” said AWARD School Co-Head Katrina Alvarez-Jarratt.

Matt Chandler, AWARD School Co-Head said: “Brendan definitely stood out in a year marked as one of AWARD School’s best, and receives the inaugural Ray Black Pencil. We congratulate him and all of this year’s students and wish them well in carving out what will no doubt be successful creative careers,” he said.

AWARD and Advertising Council Australia would like to thank this year’s school heads, tutors, speakers and judges who continue to make the AWARD School program a success, and AWARD School principal sponsor Meta for its ongoing support of the next wave of Australia’s creative talent.

Steve Coll, Head of Creative Shop ANZ, Meta, said: “Each year we are amazed at the talented cohort who participate in the AWARD School programme and this year’s community is no different. As proud partners, Meta would like to thank everyone involved and a massive congratulations to this year’s winners.”

Congratulations to Brendan and all the finalists who had their works reviewed by an international super jury.

State finalists: AWARD School 2022


NSW Sophie Hackett Katie Moore & Nicholas Sellars, 303 MullenLowe Sydney, Jari Kennedy & Anthony Campagna, Ogilvy Sydney
VIC Thomas Ahearn Patrick Trethowan & Lee Phillips, Ogilvy Melbourne, Shaun McFarlane & Janice Ko, Special Group Melbourne
WA Brendan Morrow Simon Mullins & Robert Mead, Rare, Bryan Dennis, &Partners, Matt Nankivell, Moonsail
QLD Catherine Lucas Wayne Smith & Carissa Jackson, Ogilvy Brisbane, Salvatore Borzillo, CHEP Network & Tim Kelly, Khemistry
SA Dallas Rodgers Dave Lawson, Design People, Corey Swaffer, KWP!, Rory Kennett-Lister & Abby Moulton, Showpony, James Rickard, JAMES, Mark Atherton & Patrick O'Reilly, TBWA, Matt Minear, BAD Advertising, Sam John, Codefish, David Ormston, Simple Integrated Marketing, Nick Brz & Alice McKenzie, NATION Creative, Adam Carpenter, Prohibition Gin
ONLINE Kirsty Reynolds George Organ & Russell Nelson, CX Lavender, Emily Field, Kiah Nicholas & Bob Broadfoot, BMF